Susan E. Thomas CPA
What is my tax bracket?


Generally, a tax bracket is the income tax rate at which you are taxed for a certain range of income. The income ranges vary, depending on your filing status: single, married filing jointly (or qualifying widow(er)), married filing separately, or head of household. Brackets are expressed by their marginal tax rate, which refers to the rate at which your next dollar of income will be taxed. There are six marginal tax rates: 10 percent, 15 percent, 25 percent, 28 percent, 33 percent, and 35 percent.

Year 2009 federal income tax rates for single taxpayers are as follows:

If Taxable Income Is:

Your Tax Is:

Not over $8,350

10% of taxable income

Over $8,350, but not over $33,950

$835+ 15% of excess over $8,350

Over $33,950, but not over $82,250

$4,675 + 25% of excess over $33,950

Over $82,250, but not over $171,550

$16,750 + 28% of excess over $82,250

Over $171,550, but not over $372,950

$41,754 + 33% of excess over $171,550

Over $372,950

$108,216 + 35% of excess over $372,950

Prepared by Broadridge Investor Communication Solutions, Inc, Copyright 2011